“Truly wonderful, the mind of a child is”

photo credit: Flickr user "sw77" - used under Creative Commons

photo credit: Flickr user “sw77” – used under Creative Commons

I agree with Yoda. (The title of this piece is a quote of his.)

This morning, as she was finishing her cereal, my daughter was completely taken by the reflection of her cup on our table. She was passing her hand under the table and above the table and, as is her custom, talking the whole time.

Then she fired out a wonderful question.

“Daddy, why is the reflection upside down?”

My daughter asked a fantastic question. Would the average geometry student be able to answer it?

My daughter asked a fantastic question. Would the average geometry student be able to answer it?

In my head, I thought that my students should definitely be able to hammer out a pretty reasonable response to that question by the end of the first unit of geometry.

And thanks to my daughter, they will.

Leave a comment