The Value of Face-to-Face

Today I got an opportunity to facilitate at EdCamp Mid Michigan, which was just the second time I served in any manner of leadership role at a teacher professional development workshop. The format was designed to be casual and conversational. Facilitators opened the conversation and the participants contributed for 45 minutes or so asking questions, telling stories, stating concerns and helping each other.

Sam Shah, a math teacher to whom I have received tremendous support developing a calculus class for next year recently posted a fantastic piece about the power of community. I encourage you to read the piece and reflect on how powerful a member of this sharing and learning community that you are. Each contribution matters, each “like”, each comment, each bit of dissent. We impact each other and we take it back to our classrooms.

And while I can completely embrace Mr. Shah’s post, I would like to offer a bit of a “yeah, but…”

Today’s EdCamp was a great microcosm of that greater community. There weren’t as many people, but each person was expected to contribute, because each person brings value to the table. They bring experiences, questions, concerns, anecdotes, advice… all of these parts are necessary for the community to flourish. The “mathtwitterblogosphere” or (MTBoS as it has come to be known) is a similar community. Some do a lot of writing. Some a lot of reading. But it is inclusive. (Shoot, if they’ll welcome me, they’ll welcome anyone.)

But EdCamp included one part that has been missing from my experience with the MTBoS: eye contact. That’s the one missing piece. The overwhelming majority of the teachers that I have communicated with through twitter and my blog are people who I have never met face-to-face. And while the MTBoS does it’s very best to facilitate conversations among folks all over the world… (I say that as though I have forgotten how remarkable it is that such technology even exists)… I wish that more could be done to create opportunities to get a chance to break bread with so many of the fantastic folks that I am meeting through twitter handles and avatar photos.

With that eye contact today, I tried (as Mr. Shah describes similarly in the aforementioned piece) to describe the value of the MTBoS to some math teachers who hadn’t explored the community much. I’m pretty sure I did a poor job. You see, one of the most important functions of face-to-face interactions is the power of facial expressions. Truth is, I am grateful for conversation because I often don’t know how well or poorly I’m explaining something until I see the faces people make when they are listening to me explain it. As I have moved out of my 20’s and into my 30’s, I am finding that I am doing more and more explaining to other people. The ability to look someone in the face and converse is one that I find incredibly valuable.

Bottom line: Thank you for all the support that you’ve provided MTBoS and thank you EdCamp Mid-Michigan for the support you’ve provided. I am thankful to be a part of both communities and hope that I’ve been a meaningful contributor. Today simply reminded me that while it is fantastic to embrace the resources and contributions (and amazing that it is even possible to do so) it is equally important to embrace the community that exists nearby me, too.

2 thoughts on “The Value of Face-to-Face

  1. I love this post. You’re right about the important of eye contact, which is why I loved that we actually all got to meet up in person. I know at least a bunch of us in the NYC-region were talking about maybe meeting up more regularly for some semi-formal-semi-informal discussions in person should happen — precisely because of what you’re talking about.

    “it is equally important to embrace the community that exists nearby me, too.” HECK YES.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    • The good news on this front is that I was able to meet Dan Meyer today. I attended a workshop that he was leading. It was, for all the reasons previously mentioned, fantastic. His message (as would be true of all of our messages) is different when you hear them say it and you can ask them follow-up questions (and add your own “yeah, buts”).

Leave a Reply

