Kids, I’ll tell you why you need math…

So I was at Kroger and I was thirsty.

I went to the cooler to pick out a 20 oz. Coke. $1.69. Reasonable. About what you’ll pay most places, at least around these parts.

2014-09-28 16.47.29
But I had some more shopping to do. So, I kept walking. Gathering the items on my list.

Then I saw some 2-liter Cokes. (Remind me. Which is a bigger amount of Coke? 2 Liters? or 20 ounces?)

The 2-Liter Coke was priced at “2/$3.00”. (Which, I’m pretty sure is less than $1.69.)

(Oh! And you don’t have to buy 2 to get that price. Kroger is awesome like that.)
2014-09-28 16.49.24

 

I get pricing a little bit. I worked concessions at a college football stadium for a while (true story, by the way). I know the shtick. It’s upselling.

“For an extra quarter, you get almost double the pop!”

But this isn’t like that.

You have to buy 4 twenty-ouncers to fill a 2-liter. 4! You include the 10-cent bottle deposit here in the great state of Michigan, and that’s over $7.00!

2-Liter? $1.50

This isn’t even close.

Kids, THAT’S why you learn math.

One thought on “Kids, I’ll tell you why you need math…

Leave a Reply

