Mosaic Math

2014-04-12 17.06.18

I found some more math in Lansing, MI. Right downtown, actually. The Lansing Art Gallery has a rather artsy front entrance. It looks like this.

2014-04-12 17.09.04

 

See the green circle? See it? Looks like Pac Man. This one:

2014-04-12 17.10.37

 

 

Closer inspection reveals that it is a green mosaic circle partially covered by a red mosaic rectangle. This grabbed my attention while I was strolling waiting to pick up a Cottage Inn pizza. I wondered how many green mosaic pieces were “underneath” the rectangle. I also wondered what percentage of the circle was covered up by the red rectangle.

Let me know if you get a solution. I’ll let you know when I get one.

Leave a Reply

