Three-Ring Binder Problem

This is a bit of a sequel to The Bowl Problem, which was one of the first video problems I ever made. But I gave the bowl problem to a group of students and a handful of them were skeptical of measurements taken straight from the video. So, I gave them a chance to solve the problem right in my classroom.

To solve this one, you may want a close-up shot of the cabinet. So, here:

The cabinet in question in my classroom

The cabinet in question in my classroom

You may also want a close-up shot of the binders. They are basic 1-inch, empty three-ring binders. So, here:

photo 22

Two of the three-ring binders stacked in an alternating manner

photo 21

A end view of the three-ring binder

You may also want a shot of the two together. So, here are a few of these:
photo 25 photo 24

Do your best. Let me know what you find out.

2 thoughts on “Three-Ring Binder Problem

    • Thanks, Taylor. I love the feedback. I also loved how you and your classmates attacked this problem. I will do my best to keeping throwing good stuff like this at you guys.

Leave a Reply

