Student blogging has me thinking… (reaching out for help once again.)

I think I want to try student blogging next year in my Algebra II classes. I’ve only ever taught Algebra II once and I didn’t do a particularly wonderful job.

It was the sense-making that really got to me. My students were pretty good at learn procedures and algorithms, but the long-term retention was remarkably low. I have seen several examples of student blogging and feel like if I framed the discussion questions properly and encouraged the students to read each other’s posts, and comment. That could… COULD… open up a different mathematical thinking experience for the students.

If that were used to supplement the number-crunching practice, and the group problem-solving and exploration, that could potentially act as a way to deepen (or at least broaden) the thinking that the students were being asked to do. In addition, the opportunity for the entire internet to read and respond can add an extra-level of interaction. The students wouldn’t have to apply their real name if they didn’t want to. There is a chance for creative anonymity.

All of that being said, if you have your students blog, will you please comment on this so that I can pick your brain on what’s worked, what hasn’t, what to watch out for and what to definitely do! Links to other blog post would be much appreciated. E-mail this post to people you know who do this. I would love a rich, challenging comment section on this one. And trust me, if you don’t help me, I will make my own idea and learn this the hard way!

 

 

One thought on “Student blogging has me thinking… (reaching out for help once again.)

  1. I am also interested in having students blog this year. I really want a type of electronic journal. There are apps out there that will allow a private blog space, but I want to encourage my students to seek a wider audience. I,too, am teaching Algebra II this year, and I want to deepen student engagement – I will definitely be posting the results via my own blog. I would like to hear from BYOD schools (my students mostly have phones, and not all apps are phone friendly) about student friendly blog sites. I am also interested in setting up twitter sidebar conversations during lessons. I am hoping this creates a better way for me to hear student questions and thoughts more immediately – and encourage peer to peer teaching as students answer each other’s queries.

Leave a Reply

